Summer Bash scrapped as Championship and League 1 fixtures confirmed

Championship and League 1 clubs have discovered their fixture lists for the upcoming campaign after the RFL confirmed plans for the two competitions.

The Championship will start on Good Friday, April 2nd, with all 14 teams in action. League 1 will start on the weekend of May 8th/9th.

The Championship will be a 22-round competition. Each team will play nine teams twice and four teams once. Summer Bash has also been cancelled due to uncertainty surrounding the return of fans. Clubs had hoped to keep the event as Sky have broadcast it on an annual basis, but the logistical challenges have resulted in a decision been made to remove it from the calendar.

Like Super League, the competition will be determined on points percentage, given the ongoing concerns of postponements due to Covid cases. Clubs will be able to cancel a game if they have seven or more players unavailable due to Covid-related reasons. Games will we be cancelled if they’re unable to be rearranged.

Additionally, a decision has been made to scrap golden point for the season due to player welfare concerns raised. Games will finish in a draw after 80 minutes.

Games will be streamed while fans are unable to attend games. Season ticket holders will be able to access their club’s games for free.

League 1 will be an 18-round competition with all 10 teams playing one another twice.

The first round of the Championship will see York City Knights play at their new stadium for the first time as they host Toulouse Olympique. Halifax Panthers will wear their new moniker for the first time at home to London Broncos and newly-promoted Newcastle Thunder will entertain Widnes Vikings.

Fixtures can be found here.

YorkshireLive – Halifax